If you are about to buy the latest Samsung phone or any android phone? Whether you plan to trade in your old Android phone and get a dsicount on your new phone, sell it online or give it away to your friend, you may wanna wipe of the phone first and then resetting it to factory condition.
Before you start, make sure you have backed up all your data either on PC or by Cloud. You can use GCloud to backup all your data to the cloud including contacts, call history, messages, photo, video, apps, phone settings and more.
If you already have bought a new device, and if it’s a Samsung phone, you can use Samsung Switch, or you can just sign in the Samsung Cloud account and everything saved in the cloud will be restored automatically otherwise if it’s not a Samsung phone, you can check what cloud app is installed on your Android phone and backup and restore all the data to the new phone.
Once thats done, you can go on resetting your device by the below instructions:
Go to “Settings”
Select System > Advanced > Reset options
You will be presented with three options, “Reset Wi-Fi, mobile & Bluetooth”, Reset app preferences” and Erase all data (factory reset)” and thats the one you are going to select.
You will get a warning screeen reminding that your data will be erased along with all the accounts that has been registered on the device. Select “Reset phone”.
If you have a PIN or Fingerprint or other security setup, you will be asked to enter it.
You will get another screen asking if you are sure this is what you want to do. Hit “Erase everything”.
That’s it, this process usually takes a few minutes. After reset, your phone will reboot and will be returned to factory settings. You will be presented with a homepage where you will fill questions such as language, network settings, sign in google etc.
You need to be aware of a few things, if you have a Samsung phone, you are going to be asked for your Samsung acccount password before you can reset (provided you have created one and registered it on the phone).
If you have got an Android phone that is using a older version of OS (before version 8.0), you may have to login after the reboot when you choose to reset. If you have got an older phone, you may want to switch off your screen lock by going.
Security > Screen lock and selecting “None” and than deleting your Google account (which you will find @ Settings > Account > Google) before you start the reset.
There is evidence that some data may remain on your phone even after a reset and with the use of software the data can be retrieved.
With the new android phones, you may want to switch on “Encrypt the phone” before resetting it by going to
Settings > Security & Location > Advanced > Encryption & Credentials and select “Encrypt phone” then go back to settings and start the reset process.
Off course if you want to be really sure your data is safe, you can grab a hammer.